2021 Rotary Emergency Services Community Award Recipients Announced

Rotary Clubs of the ACT has recognised ACT Emergency Services personnel for their ongoing selfless service to the community with the awarding of the 2021 ACT Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards (RESCA).

Eight finalists from ACT Ambulance Service (ACTAS), ACT Fire & Rescue (ACTF&R), ACT Rural Fire Service (ACTRFS) and ACT State Emergency Service (ACTSES) were nominated by the ACT community to recognise the invaluable service.

ACT Rural Fire Service Chief Officer Rohan Scott was awarded the 2021 RESCA in the paid category. Rohan Scott spent over 20 years as a volunteer firefighter before assuming the position of Chief Officer at the ACTRFS. He has been commended for devoting his time to develop a stronger more resilient ACTRFS by initiating several health and wellbeing programs following the 2019-20 Black Summer fire season.

ACT Rural Fire Service volunteer firefighter Christopher Puschak was awarded the 2021 RESCA in the volunteer category. Christopher has been involved with the ACT Emergency Services Agency for the past 24 years and is currently the Treasurer of the Hall Volunteer Rural Fire Brigade. Whilst being an active volunteer firefighter, Christopher has been commended for his dedication and commitment to his service and his crew especially over the 2019 fire season, always assisting his crew where possible to ensure confidence and consistency.

ACTESA Commissioner Georgeina Whelan said paid and volunteer emergency services personnel play a vital role in keeping the community safe.

“These awards are a fantastic way to honour the contribution of both paid staff and volunteer members. The RESCA is the only time emergency services personnel, both paid and volunteer, are recognised in a combined awards program,” Commissioner Whelan said.

Congratulations to our finalists and deserving 2021 RESCA winners!